Food · Health · Healthy Eating · Produce · Uncategorized

Growing Eschallots from Scraps

I have been doing a little test with trying to regrow ecshallots

I had started this little test by doing a little reseach on Pinterest about regrowing scraps from your kitchen. There were many things I could have chosen from, but I was drawn to the Eschallots. 

I already had a bunch in the fridge. So I decided to try it. I found the best one from here, after scrolling after a few minutes and I thoroughly enjoyed reading what was written.

 

So I started Test One

I had about 8 Eschallot ends.

img_0538

I had them sitting in water for about a week, changing the water every two days.

553b4719ef0c32b6db6f10592df744ba

After about a week, a few of them did die  But I wasn’t to worried afterall this was a test.

I replanted the rest of them into a pot, and let them do their own thing and watering them every couple of days.

Out of all of the ones that I had replanted, only one survived. It’s companion plant is the lemon tree (it’s also got some lemons growing). It’s also not my best photo.

14479745_10210598217573738_1238507070697261669_n

 

I am happy with my first test.  I managed to get one growing. And today I am starting Test Two.

14517466_10210598234214154_7977583012880995633_n

I have another eight planted in with my rose bush.  I can’t wait to see how many I get from this lot!

I can’t wait to start regrowing other things, at the moment I am trying to regrow pineapple, garlic, avocadoes and sweet potatoes.

 

~ Wendy

 

img_5796

Leave a Reply

