Natural cleaners · Top 10

Top 10 Uses for Vinegar

I’ve been using white vinegar from my pantry, as a natural cleaner for some time now. I love using it to clean my kettle, the microwave and the oven.  I’ve also added it to some of washing to make my clothes and towels feel soft. And just recently I’ve been having a dash of it (in my vinaigrette) in my salads.

But have you wondered what else it is good for? 

I have done my Pinterest research and came up with the top 10 uses that I wouldn’t think of using. And now I  want to use a few of these =)

There’s at least 100+ uses for vinegar, that I was slightly overwhelmed by looking at it all.

So here’s my top 10 =)

1. Clean paint brushes – To remove dried paint from a synthetic-bristle paint brushes, soak it in full-strength white vinegar until all the paint is dissolved and the bristles are soft and pliable. Then wash in hot, soapy water.

2. Disinfect cutting boards – Wipe cutting boards with undiluted white vinegar. This will work on wooden boards as well.

3. Remove water rings on furniture – Mix equal parts of vinegar and olive oil and apply with a soft cloth while moving with the wood grain. Use another soft cloth to shine.

4. Weed killer – Using a form or paint brush, brush directly onto the leaves of the weeds. The only issue with this is that this is harmful to other plants. So be careful of where you put the vinegar.

5. Freshen stinky shoes – Soak the insoles in vinegar and warm water for a few hours. Let dry.

6.  Clean the walls – To remove the dust and shine the walls, add one cup of vinegar to 4 litres of water. Stir to combine and wipe away.

7. Clean plastic containers – For stained and smelly plastic food containers, wipe them with cloth dampened with vinegar.

8. Clean baby toys – to clean and disinfect baby toys add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar to some soapy water, wash then rise clean.

9. Clean scissors – clean off sticky residue with a cloth dipped in vinegar

10. Rust remover of small objects – Fill a jar half-full with vinegar, drop in small rusty parts, screw the lid on and soak for a few days until rust loosens. Remove the objects, rinse with water and dry carefully.

 

Extra tip – Also works with grease covered screws from the oven (I know because I tried it). Place them in a glass of vinegar and let it sit while you are cleaning the oven. Give the screws a wipe over with paper towel before reinstalling the racks after the oven is completely clean.

 

Hope you found my list very interesting. Do you use any of these? I know there are a couple of things I want to try out.

I’d love to hear what “outside the box” uses you like using with vinegar!

~ Wendy

54897

Leave a Reply

