Health · Home Remedies

My uses for baking soda

It was about 15 years ago when I first tried baking soda as a cleaner. I remember the kitchen bench was stained so bad that nothing I was using was doing absolutely nothing to get rid of it.  I don’t remember how, it may have come from a magazine, but I read that baking soda was a good cleaner when combined with water and some good old elbow grease.

And so I did just that and I was amazed.  It worked. I didn’t think it would but it did. It did take a few scrubs to get it off.  But the stains were gone and my arms were sore from all the scrubbing. And the results were priceless.

And from then on I had googled other uses for baking soda

So today I am going to give you my uses for baking soda that I use regularly.

 

BiCarb-Soda-1kg-400x277
Bi-Carb Soda

 

  • Cleaning the oven

5ce28af39fde38990a7335e022d57ca3

I prefer cleaning the oven with baking soda than all the chemical stuff that’s out there. I will only use the store-bought stuff IF the baking soda doesn’t work. I love using it on the oven door. It cleans the grease up pretty well.

  • Freshen up the mattress

I used to do this when I was still living at home with my dad.  Every time I washed my bed sheets I would grab the box of baking soda and sprinkle some baking soda all over the mattress and leave it for a good hour before vacuuming the mattress.  I sometimes spray eucalyptus oil on the mattress before making the bed to give it a nice smell and to keep the fleas at bay.

  • Cleaning and deodorizing drains

     

I use a combination of Baking Soda and Vinegar to deodorize and clean my sink drains once a month. I find this so much better than the chemicals you get on the shelf.   I let the mixture sit for about 15 minutes (you can go longer if you wanted too) before flushing it out with hot water. Sometimes I also place some cut up pieces of lemon in the drain cavity before flushing with water, just to give it a nicer smell.

  • Teeth whitener

PicMonkey Collage

I have only just started this trend of using baking soda to whiten my teeth. And I am impressed with the results so far. I just dab my tooth-brush (with some sensitive toothpaste) into some baking soda and brush away. It doesn’t give me a fresh minty taste I like from brushing, but I just grab a mint afterwards.

  • Kettle cleaner

I clean the outside of my kettle with a baking soda paste (a mixture of baking soda and water) and scrub. Rinse off and you will have a nice shiny kettle.  To clean the inside, I just get a cup of water with a good splosh of white vinegar and boil the kettle. Rinse out with a bit of cool water and wipe out.

I hope you have liked some of my uses for baking soda. I’d love to hear what you use it for.

~ Wendy

 

54897

13 thoughts on “My uses for baking soda

Leave a Reply

