Recipes

Simple Green Salad

Normally in winter time I would eat heaps of baked, roasted or fried food to give me that warm, full feeling when I finished eating my dinner. I would have roasted potatoes, pumpkin and sweet potatoes every night.

Recently, I have started a low carb diet as I have been eating way too much of it lately.

So instead of heaps of pasta, rice, bread and even potatoes. I have been eating my fruit and veggies with whatever protein I’m having that night.

This green salad I’m sharing today, is really easy to make and I used some very simple ingredients and a few of them came from my own garden pots.

herbs
Parsley, Basil and Chives in first photo. Mint in its own pot in second photo.

I have starting using herbs quite a lot recently, both fresh and dry. And especially in my salads. And in cooking in general.

I came up with this salad, just only a few days a go. I haven’t googled to see if there is another one like it out there.

This green salad is becoming one of my favourite side salads that I have made. And I hope you find the recipe easy to follow.

Simple Green Salad

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

salad
Lettuce, Continental Cucumber, Parsley. Mint & Chives

1 Sprig of parsley (only need the leaves)

2 Sprigs of mint (only need the leaves)

2 sprigs of chives, roughly diced

Couple of iceberg lettuce leaves, roughly chopped

Half a cucumber, middle part scooped out and diced

For the vinaigrette: 

sdfsdhfk
Salt, White vinegar, vegetable oil

2 Tbsp oil (I used vegetable oil)

1 Tbsp white vinegar

Good pinch of salt

Method:

Place iceberg lettuce, cucumber, parsley, chives and mint into a bowl.

Add vinaigrette and toss.

Enjoy this salad with some roast chicken and roasted pumpkin.

 

396236_2204687616081_1814118841_1397089_273563168_n
Roast Chicken with Roast pumpkin and simple green salad

 

Like I said, it’s a very simple salad to make. I hope you enjoy this salad as much as me.

~ Wendy

54897

Leave a Reply

